INEC Declares Tinubu Nigeria’s President-Elect

The presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has been declared winner of the 2023 presidential election held on Saturday, February 25, and therefore proclaimed President-Elect of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Tinubu defeated his arch rivals, Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Peter Obi of the Labour Party.

The APC candidate, Tinubu polled a total of 8,794,726 votes,winning in 12 States.

PDP’s Atiku polled 6,984,520 votes winning in 12 States while Labour Party’s Obi won in 11 States, and FCT polling a total of 6,101,533 votes.

All Nigeria Peoples Party, ANPP, presidential candidate, Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, won only in Kano State, polling a total of 1, 496,687 votes.

The nation’s Chief Returning Officer and INEC chairman, Prof Mahmood Yakubu, while declaring the winner said:

“That Tinubu Bola Ahmed of the APC, having satisfied the requirement of the law, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected.”

READ MORE  Kaduna Train Attack: Tinubu cancels 70th birthday colloquium to Honour Victims

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles